Proximus League

Belgian Football Division 1B Championship

Proximus League 2020-2021

The Proximus League season 2020-2021 or Belgian football championship of Division 1B is the second highest level of Belgian national football competition. It brings together 8 first teams from professional clubs from different provinces. New this season: Lierse Kempenzonen draft and integration of Club Brugge hopes.

The Pro League in streaming

Or watch the 2020-2021 Proximus League matches live without having to pay?

On computer, tablet, smartphone? Whatever the medium, Bwin offers your football matches live in streaming without spending a single cent. To do this, you just have to register on Bwin Belgium to watch the streaming and put your player account in positive (10 cents is enough!)

Your advantage

Your advantage: Do you register on Bwin via ? Good news: you get the video of the match live from Belgian D1B.

The Different Phases 2020-2021

Regular Competition

The Proximus League part "Regular Season" is played in two periods of 14 Days from August 2020 to March 2021. Particularity of this competition: all the teams compete four times, twice at home and twice at home. 'outside.

A week later, the regular season gives way to the round trip final : the winners of period 1 and period 2 meet back and forth to designate the champion, promoted directly to Jupiler Pro League.

The Play-offs

Play-offs 2

PO2: Belgian clubs ranked 7th to 16th in the Jupiler Pro League compete in Play-offs 2 with clubs ranked in TOP 6 in the general ranking of the Proximus League. These clubs are divided into four groups of four. All teams start these PO2s with zero points and meet twice (home and away). The winners of each group compete in knockout matches with the goal of winning their ticket to the final. The winner of Playoffs 2 plays against the club ranked 4th in Playoffs 1 for the last European ticket.


The teams of clubs classified in seventh and eighth place compete in play-offs 3 (The Play-downs) in order to stay in the Proximus League. The seventh-ranked club start with a 3-point advantage and can play their first home game.

The Different Classifications

Three classifications are established: a general classification with the addition of the points of the 1st period and the 2nd period to determine the TOP 6 and the tickets for the Play-offs 2 of the Jupiler Pro League. A ranking for the 1st period and a ranking for the 2nd period.

Ranking top scorer D1B 2020-2021

The equivalent of the "Golden Bull" for Division 1B is the top scorer trophy. The final ranking is determined at the end of the Play-Offs. We do not take into account the play-offs.

  1. Thomas Henry 0 goals
  2. Kurt Abrahams goals
  3. Christian Brüls goals
  4. Mathieu Maertens goals
  5. SergeTabekou goals
  6. Raphael Holzhauser goals
  7. Stélvio Rosa da Cruz goals

European tickets

Winner of the Belgian Cup: qualified for the Europa League group stage

Winner of the POI - POII test match: qualified for the Europa League second qualifying round


From the 2020-2021 season, an additional D1B club will have the opportunity to join. The decision on promotion or retention will be made through 2 round-trip play-offs between 15th in Jupiler Pro League and second in D1B.

Ascent and descent

Some changes have also been made regarding which clubs go up and which ones go down. As for the 2020-2021 season, there will be one club that goes down in D1B and another that goes up in D1A, but a jump-off will also determine who else goes up and down at the end of this season. On the other hand, during the following season, three clubs will go down for only one which goes up in order to be able to return from there to the format of the sixteen teams which seems to please the officials of the Pro League.


# 1 70 Points
Union saint-gilloise Union saint-gilloise
# 2 52 Points
RFC Seraing RFC Seraing
# 3 43 Points
Lommel Lommel
# 4 43 Points
Westerlo Westerlo
# 5 39 Points
Deinze Deinze
# 6 35 Points
# 7 16 Points
Lierse Lierse
# 8 13 Points
Bruges Bruges